



General Chairs

Allan Kardec BARROS Universidade Federal do Maranhão

José PRINCIPE University of Florida at Gainesville

Program Chairs

Jan LARSEN Technical University of Denmark

Tülay ADALI University of Maryland Baltimore County

Finance Chair

Guilherme BARRETO Universidade Federal do Ceará

Proceedings Chair

Scott C. DOUGLAS
Southern Methodist University

Publicity Chair

Marc Van HULLE Katholieke Universiteit, Leuven

Registration Chair

Hani Camille YEHIA Universidade Federal Minas Gerais

Local Arrangements Chair

Osvaldo R. SAAVEDRA Universidade Federal do Maranhão

America Liaison

S. Y. Kung Princeton University

Asia Liaison

Shun-Ichi AMARI Brain Science Institute - RIKEN

Europe Liaison

Jean-François CARDOSO CNRS

Schedule

Submission of full paper: April 15, 2004

Notification of acceptance: May 15, 2004

Camera-ready paper and author registration: June 1, 2004

Advance registration before: July 31, 2004

2004 IEEE Workshop on Machine Learning for Signal Processing

Formerly Neural Networks for Signal Processing Sep. 29 - Oct. 1st, 2004, São Luís, Brazil Sponsored by the IEEE Signal Processing Society



Call for Papers

The fourteenth of a series of IEEE workshops on Machine Learning for Signal Processing will be held in São Luís (http://www.turismo.ma.gov.br/en/), Brazil. São Luís is located just in between Amazonia and the Northeast coast, and is a World Heritage island. It is the only capital city in Brazil founded by the French. It has a wonderful Portuguese Historical Center, along with exquisite local seafood, and is close to one of the most beautiful deserts in the world: Lençois Maranhenses, where pristine water lays lazily distributed among beautiful dunes.

This is a continuation of the IEEE workshops on Neural Networks for Signal Processing (NNSP) organized by the NNSP technical committee of the Signal Processing society. The name of the technical committee, hence of the workshop, has been changed to Machine Learning to Signal Processing in September 2003 to better reflect the areas represented by the technical committee.

The workshop will feature keynote addresses, technical presentations, special sessions and tutorials that will be included in the registration. Papers are solicited for, but not limited to, the following areas:

Algorithms and Architectures: Artificial neural networks, kernel methods, committee models, Gaussian processes, independent component analysis, advanced (adaptive, nonlinear) signal processing, (hidden) Markov models, Bayesian modeling, parameter estimation, generalization, optimization, design algorithms.

Applications: Speech processing, image processing (computer vision, OCR), multimodal interactions, multi-channel processing, intelligent multimedia and web processing, robotics, sonar and radar, bio-medical engineering, financial analysis, time series prediction, blind source separation, data fusion, data mining, adaptive filtering, communications, sensors, system identification, and other signal processing and pattern recognition applications.

Implementations: Parallel and distributed implementation, hardware design, and other general implementation technologies.

MLSP'2004 webpage: http://isp.imm.dtu.dk/mlsp2004

Paper Submission Procedure

Prospective authors are invited to submit a full paper of up to ten pages using the electronic submission procedure described at the workshop homepage. Accepted papers will be published in a bound volume by IEEE after the workshop and a CDROM volume will be distributed at the workshop.

Program Committee

	•		
Amir Assadi	Samy Bengio	Fumitada Itakura	Jonas Sjöberg
Vince D. Calhoun	Deniz Erdogmus	Manuel Samuelides	Mark Girolami
Seungjin Choi	Craig L. Fancourt	Johan Suykens	Aluizio Araujo
Andrzej Cichocki	Edson Nascimento	Te-Won Lee	Ling Guan
Jeanny Herault	Samuel Kaski	Aurelio Uncini	Soo-Young Lee
Shigeru Katagiri	Josef Kittler	Marc Van Hulle	Fernando Von Zuben
Antonio P. Braga	Noboru Ohnishi	Danilo Mandic	Elias Manolakos
Gonzalo Acuña	David Miller	DeLiang Wang	Steve Renals
Klaus-Robert Müller	Erkki Oja	Yue Wang	Jean Rouat
Jean-Marc Vesin	Christophe Molina	Phillip Regalia	Scott C. Douglas
Joao Marcos Romano	Kemal Sönmez	Andrew Back	John Fisher
Simon Haykin	Hani C. Yehia	K. Diamantaras	Dragan Obradovic